The Unexpected. Easier Said Than Done.

I posted a quote a couple weeks ago about how if you do nothing unexpected, nothing unexpected happens. I mentioned how I needed to embrace this quote because I’ve been feeling stagnant lately and complaining about being “in a rut” and bothered by the fact that every day seems the same as the day before. Well, I have to admit that I am amazed at how when faced with the unexpected, I immediately resist.

My birthday is Monday. The other night as we’re sitting at the kitchen table having dinner, my husband says, “By the way, you have plans on Sunday.” I immediately panic….

“What do you mean I have plans Sunday? What kind of plans? When? In the morning? Until what time? I can’t have plans on Sunday. Kiersten has soccer. Brianna has cheer practice. How late will we be? Brianna has school on Monday.”

Wow. I complain about being in a rut. I complain about every day being the same. Then as soon as the unexpected presents itself, I panic. No wonder every day is the same. I made it this way. I created this rut.

My best friend’s father took his wife on a surprise cruise for her birthday last month. For a second I thought…oh, how nice. But then I thought…but how can he do that? Doe she have the right clothes packed? Won’t she be upset if she doesn’t have everything she needs?

Of course not. She’ll enjoy it. Who wouldn’t?

But that is the sort of thinking that got me into this rut.

So, I’m embracing the unexpected. Or at least trying to. The world won’t end if my daughter misses cheer practice. I don’t need to know exactly what’s going on and when…that’s actually a tough one to accept since I’m a bit of a control freak. But being a control freak and embracing the unexpected don’t work very well together. So I’m going to take a step back, breathe, and just go with it for once. It’s a first step to changing things. Climbing out of this rut is going to be harder than I thought because I didn’t realize until now that resistance to the unexpected is such a big part of my personality. But I hate this rut, so I’m going to work on it.

Now I am going to make my husband tell me what I need to wear Sunday so I can plan accordingly. Baby steps.

About spicysugarblog

I’m a mom. And you can’t take the rest of me without taking the mom part. You can’t love the fun-loving, football-watching, martini-drinking, hip-shaking, sarcastic girl in me without also loving the mom. I will spend my days loving my kids, trying to read to them twice a day, doing all the activities they love that drive adults crazy, taking them to the irritating kid-play places, going out of my way to make sure I am making the best and healthiest choices for them in every way I can, and generally doing what I can to make them happy whatever it takes. On the other hand…I will also put on my mini-dress and heels and go out dancing, or wear my bikini to lay by the pool and have a cocktail, or avidly watch football on Sunday while drinking beer, downing wings and yelling at the TV. I’m not the typical mom. I’m also not the typical stiletto-wearing girl in the club, bikini-clad girl on the beach, or jersey-wearing girl in the sports bar. But it's all part of the package that makes me…me. And what fun is being typical? View all posts by spicysugarblog

Leave a Reply

