Musings, Not Resolutions

I’ve never been a fan of New Years resolutions. They have always seemed silly. People talk about them for a couple weeks and then forget about them. However, during the last few weeks of this year, I happen to find myself thinking about some things I would like to work on in the new year.

1. I will relax. I will stress less and enjoy things more. I will stop letting life pass me by because I’m stressing too much about all of the things I’m not getting done instead of just enjoying the things that are happening around me. I’m so busy stressing about everything, I miss out on enjoying great experiences.

2. I will spend more time with family and friends. I have been really bad about this in the past year or two and I regret that. It’s part of #1. I always have a million reasons why I can’t make time for family and friends because I need “to get things done.” I need to remind myself that people and experiences are more important to my overall well-being and quality of life than checking things off my to do list.

3. I will make more time for myself. Between work and commuting, my husband is out of the house a lot. So when he is home, I feel that it is important that we spend time together as a family. He works hard, but some of that time out of the house is lunch during the work day with friends, business dinners out, after-work networking events he chooses to attend, and stuff like playing basketball with his coworkers. I need to realize that it is okay and important to take some time to myself on the weekend after spending all week taking care of the kids. I recently read an article about stay-home moms having  a higher rate of depression than working moms because they end up feeling lonely and isolated. I can see that. But I also believe it can be easily changed by recognizing it and making choices to prevent it. Family time is important, but so is me time. I am better for my family if I am happy and sane.

These are the things I am thinking about as the end of the year approaches, but I don’t want to call them resolutions because I feel like resolutions are too easily broken, so let’s just call them New Year self-musings…

About spicysugarblog

I’m a mom. And you can’t take the rest of me without taking the mom part. You can’t love the fun-loving, football-watching, martini-drinking, hip-shaking, sarcastic girl in me without also loving the mom. I will spend my days loving my kids, trying to read to them twice a day, doing all the activities they love that drive adults crazy, taking them to the irritating kid-play places, going out of my way to make sure I am making the best and healthiest choices for them in every way I can, and generally doing what I can to make them happy whatever it takes. On the other hand…I will also put on my mini-dress and heels and go out dancing, or wear my bikini to lay by the pool and have a cocktail, or avidly watch football on Sunday while drinking beer, downing wings and yelling at the TV. I’m not the typical mom. I’m also not the typical stiletto-wearing girl in the club, bikini-clad girl on the beach, or jersey-wearing girl in the sports bar. But it's all part of the package that makes me…me. And what fun is being typical? View all posts by spicysugarblog

Leave a Reply

