My Tomato Savior

I’ve been seeing stuff for a while now about how bad it is to eat canned tomatoes with the BPA lining and the acidity of the tomatoes causing all that BPA to get into them. Honestly, I’ve been ignoring it. I use canned tomatoes in my cooking a LOT. I even eat them for breakfast with my eggs. I just couldn’t even think about not using them. But then I read more about it…and more. Finally, I thought it was time to give up my canned tomatoes. I tried Pomi in the carton, but I didn’t like them. Their “diced” tomatoes seemed more crushed than diced to me. I like my diced tomatoes chunky, Pomi wasn’t cutting it. But now what? I figured it would be jarred tomatoes. Guess what? They don’t exist. I searched health food stores, I searched online, I couldn’t find jarred tomatoes. I figured I would just have to use fresh tomatoes. Now, the extra effort of peeling and dicing fresh tomatoes isn’t my problem with this. It’s the taste. They are fine for some things, but they very much do not have the same flavor as canned tomatoes. And, here is where I draw the line. I am not canning or jarring my own tomatoes. I’m sorry, it’s just not happening. I already spend enough time in the kitchen. So…the different flavor of diced fresh tomatoes or accept the BPA-soaked canned tomatoes? Then I found them….Muir Glen Organic canned tomatoes. My tomato savior. Starting this year, Muir Glen is using a BPA-free liner in all of their canned tomatoes. And it turns out they are readily available in my local grocery store. Thank you, Muir Glen!

 

 

About spicysugarblog

I’m a mom. And you can’t take the rest of me without taking the mom part. You can’t love the fun-loving, football-watching, martini-drinking, hip-shaking, sarcastic girl in me without also loving the mom. I will spend my days loving my kids, trying to read to them twice a day, doing all the activities they love that drive adults crazy, taking them to the irritating kid-play places, going out of my way to make sure I am making the best and healthiest choices for them in every way I can, and generally doing what I can to make them happy whatever it takes. On the other hand…I will also put on my mini-dress and heels and go out dancing, or wear my bikini to lay by the pool and have a cocktail, or avidly watch football on Sunday while drinking beer, downing wings and yelling at the TV. I’m not the typical mom. I’m also not the typical stiletto-wearing girl in the club, bikini-clad girl on the beach, or jersey-wearing girl in the sports bar. But it's all part of the package that makes me…me. And what fun is being typical? View all posts by spicysugarblog

One response to “My Tomato Savior

Leave a Reply

